Lord's - Architects over the years

Verity Stand
Warner Stand
Louise Brodie
Grand Stand
Mound Stand
Media Centre
Louise Brodie



Verity Stand

The oldest stand at Lord’s, containing the Long Room, designed by Frank Verity, an architect famous for designing London theatres.

 Warner Stand 

named after Sir Pelham Francis Warner  MBE ( 1873 – 1963), affectionately and better known as Plum Warner or “the Grand Old Man” of English cricket, who was a Test cricketer. 

Grand Stand

built by Nicholas Grimshaw and Partners in 1998. It has two 50m span roof trusses supported on three columns.

Compton Stand

on east side beneath the Media Centre – simple concrete raked decks sitting on a  complex arrangement of tubular steel arms. Named after Denis Compton CBE (1918 -1997), an English cricketer who played in 78 Test matches.

Edrich Stand

named after  William “Bill” Edrich DFC (1916 – 1986) , a distinguished  cricketer who played for England and designed with the same arrangement as the Compton Stand.

Media Stand

built to celebrate the new millennium, known as the J.P. Morgan Media Centre. The building was awarded the RIBA Stirling Prize  for Architecture, in 1999. and has 26 prefabricated aluminium sections and a raked bank of journalist benches with a bar at the rear.

Mound Stand

designed in 1987  by Sir Michael Hopkins  to sit above the  1899 stand, and uses its brick arches. The translucent roof is PVC glassfibre weave and its whiteness is appropriate to the traditional clothes worn by cricketers.

Allen Stand

named after Sir George Oswald Browning “Gubby” Allen CBE (1902 – 1989),  who captained England in eleven Test matches.

Tavern Stand

on site of the old Tavern pub

East Clock Tower

The Grace Gates

designed by Sir  Herbert Baker.


This page was added on 08/10/2015.

No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published.